"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid." – Albert Einstein



India is a federal republic of twenty-eight states and seven Union Territories. All states, the union territory of Puducherry, and the National Capital Territory of Delhi have elected governments. The other five union territories have centrally appointed administrators and hence are under direct rule of the President. In 1956, under the States Reorganisation Act, states were formed on a linguistic basis. Since then, this structure has remained largely unchanged. Each state or union territory is divided into basic units of government and administration called districts. There are nearly 600 districts in India. The districts in turn are further divided into tehsils and eventually into villages.


1. Andhra Pradesh

2. Arunachal Pradesh

3. Assam

4. Bihar

5. Chhattisgarh

6. Goa

7. Gujarat

8. Haryana

9. Himachal Pradesh

10. Jammu and Kashmir

11. Jharkhand

12. Karnataka

13. Kerala

14. Madhya Pradesh

15. Maharashtra

16. Manipur

17. Meghalaya

18. Mizoram

19. Nagaland

20. Orissa

21. Punjab

22. Rajasthan

23. Sikkim

24. Tamil Nadu

25. Tripura

26. Uttar Pradesh

27. Uttarakhand

28. West Bengal

Union Territories:

1. Andaman and Nicobar Islands

2. Chandigarh

3. Dadra and Nagar Haveli

4. Daman and Diu

5. Lakshadweep

6. National Capital Territory of Delhi

7. Puducherry

Major Cities:

Patna • Mumbai • Delhi • Bangalore • Kolkata • Chennai • Ahmedabad • Hyderabad • Banglore • Gaya • Lucknow • Jaipur

Bhārat Ganarājya

Republic of India
Flag of India Emblem of India
Flag Emblem
Motto: Satyameva Jayate (Sanskrit)

सत्यमेव जयते (Devanāgarī)

“Truth Alone Triumphs”

Anthem: Jana Gana Mana adhinayak jai he

Thou art the ruler of the minds of all people

National Song

Vande Mataram

I bow to thee, Mother

Location of India
Capital New Delhi
Largest city Mumbai
Official languages:

Scheduled languages:

Demonym Indian
Government Federal republic

Parliamentary democracy

President Pratibha Patil
Prime Minister Manmohan Singh
Independence from British colonial rule
Declared 15 August 1947
Republic 26 January 1950
Total 3,287,590 km² (7th)

1,269,346 sq mi

Water (%) 9.56
2008 estimate 1,132,446,000 (2nd)
2001 census 1,027,015,248
Density 329/km² (31st)

852/sq mi

GDP (PPP) 2007 estimate
Total $ 2.965 trillion (4th)
Per capita $ 2700 (165th)
GDP (nominal) 2007 estimate
Total $ 1.089 trillion (12th)
Per capita $ 977 (132nd)
Gini (2004) 36.8[11]
HDI (2007) 0.619 (medium) (128th)
Currency Indian rupee (₨) (INR)
Time zone IST (UTC+5:30)
Summer (DST) not observed (UTC+5:30)
Internet TLD .in
Calling code +91