"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid." – Albert Einstein

South Asia!

South Asia, also known as Southern Asia, is a southern region of the Asian continent, which comprises the sub-Himalayan countries and, for some authorities (see below), also includes the adjoining countries on the west and the east. It is surrounded (clockwise, from west to east) by Western Asia, Central Asia, Eastern Asia, and Southeastern Asia.

South Asia consists of the following countries and territories:

1. Bangladesh

2. British Indian Ocean Territory

3. Bhutan

4. India

5. Maldives

6. Nepal

7. Pakistan

8. Sri Lanka

These countries, except the British Indian Ocean Territory, are also currently members of a regional co-operation group, the South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC), which was jointly formed by them. For assumed geographic, cultural, and/or historical reasons, the following countries and territories are often included in South Asia:

Afghanistan(Otherwise considered Central Asian or Middle-Eastern) (Now a member of SAARC)

Myanmar, (Prior to August 1947, for nearly a century, it was part of the British Raj region of South Asia proper.) (Otherwise considered Southeast Asian

Tibet, PRC (Otherwise considered Central Asian) (The People’s Republic of China, which governs Tibet, is an observer member of SAARC)

The United Nations also includes Iran, but not Tibet or Burma, as part of Southern Asia:
Iran (Iran is an observer nation in SAARC) (Otherwise considered Southwest Asia)

Geophysically, the term Indian subcontinent is used to describe those regions which lie on the Indian Plate, bordered on the north by the Eurasian Plate. However, a good proportion of the Pakistani land mass is not on the Indian plate, but on the fringes of the Iranian plateau. As in the case of the Hindukush mountains, everything to the south-east of the Iranian Plateau is considered South Asia. But, geopolitically, Southern Asia subsumes the Indian subcontinent and includes both, the territories found internal to the Indian Plate and those in proximity to it. Afghanistan, for instance, is sometimes grouped in this region due to socio-political, historical, and ethnic (Pashtun) ties to neighbouring Pakistan.


3 responses

  1. Pingback: Visitors « La Vida Loca: The Crazy Life…

  2. Pingback: https://prafulkr.wordpress.com « La Vida Loca

  3. Human

    Who are we as a people? We are Human.

    I mean more specifically, Racially? South Asian, Deshi, Sarracian, Indian.

    What are the major subgroups? Bengali in the East, Hindi in the West and Central, Tamil in the South, Urdu in the North.

    What are the major cutoffs? The Hindu Kush to the Northwest, The Himalayas to the Northeast, The Chini Hills to the East, The Indian Ocean to the Southwest, The bay of Bengal to the Southeast.

    How many are there on the planet? We estimate about 1.5 Billion Deshis.

    How many are there in North America? We estimate about 5 Million people.

    What do you find is our key goal in North America? We should build a megacity for nearly 1 Million South Asian people.

    How will we do that? The Millions will build it for their benefit. Others can help them at a cost.

    Why are we here in North America? Larger forces in nature have placed us here.

    What is the goal of man? To evovle.

    What is the price of the wheat? I don’t know.

    July 12, 2008 at 3:39 AM

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s