"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid." – Albert Einstein

Different Forms of Maa Durga

Different Forms of Maa Durga

Maa Durga is worshipped in many different forms. She
is a form of “SHAKTI”. The evolution of Shri Maha Saraswati, Shri Maha Laxmi
and Shri Mahakali (the 3 main forms of “SHAKTI”) took place from “Shri Brahma”,
“Shri Vishnu” and “Shri Mahesh” respectively. Each of these 3 deities gave
rise to 3 more forms and hence in all, these 9 forms together are known as

1. Maa Shailputri
The Navratri commences with the 1st night devoted to the puja of Maa “Shailputri”.
“Shail” means mountains; “Parvati”, the daughter of king of Mountains Himavan,
is known as “Shailputri”. HER 2 hands, display a trident and a lotus. She
is mounted upon a bull.

2. Maa Bhramcharni
One hand holds a “Kumbha” or water port and the other rosary.
She personifies love and loyalty. Maa Bhramcharni is store-house of knowledge
and wisdom. Rudraksha is her most adorned ornament.

3. Maa Chandraghanta
Worshipped on the 3rd night this Maa Durga “SHAKTI” is astride a tiger, displays
a golden hue to HER skin, possesses ten hands and 3 eyes. Eight of HER hands
display weapons while the remaining two are respectively in the mudras of
gestures of boon giving and stopping harm. Chandra + Ghanta, meaning supreme
bliss and knowledge, showering peace and serenity, like cool breeze in a moonlit

4. Maa Kushmanda
The 4th night begins the worship of Maa “Kushmanda”, possessed
of eight arms, holding weapons and a mala or rosary. Her mount is a tiger
and She emanates a solar like aura. “Kumbh Bhand” means to see cosmic vivacity
in Pindi shape or knowledge of cosmic intricacies in human race. The abode
of Maa “Kushmanda” is in Bhimaparvat.

5. Maa Skandmata
Using a lion as a vehicle She holds her son, “SKAND” in her
lap while displaying 3 eyes and 4 hands; two hands hold lotuses while the
other 2 hands respectively display defending and granting gestures. Its said,
by the mercy of Maa “Skandmata”, even the idiot becomes an ocean of knowledge
such as “Kalidas”.

6. Maa Kaatyayani –
As mother,
Maa “Kaatyayani” stayed in the Ashram of sage Katyayan for penance, hence
She named as “Kaatyayani”. This 6th Shakti is also astride a lion with 3 eyes
and 4 arms. One left hand holds a weapon and the other a lotus. The other
2 hands respectively display defending and granting gestures. Her complexion
is golden coloured.

7. Maa Kaalratri
Black skin with bountiful hair and 4 hands, 2 clutching a
cleaver and a torch, while the remaining 2 are in the mudras of “giving” and
“protecting”. SHE is mounted upon a Donkey. The destroyer of darkness and
ignorance, Maa “Kaalratri” is the seventh form of Nav-Durga meaning scourer
of darkness; enemy of darkness. Maa Kaalratri’s famous shrine is in Calcutta.

8. Maa Mahagauri
Four arms with the fairest complexion of all the Durga Shaktis. Peace and
compassion radiate from Her being and She is often dressed in a white or green
sari. She holds a drum and a trident and is often depicted riding a bull.
Maa “Mahagauri can be seen in a temple at Kankhal near pilgrim centre Haridwar.

9. Maa Siddhiratri-
Ensconced upon a lotus, most commonly,
with 4 arms, and is the possessor of 26 different wishes to grant Her bhakts.
Maa Siddhiratri’s famous pilgrim centre, is located in Nanda Parvat in the


3 responses

  1. nice images
    jai mata di

    November 23, 2011 at 6:16 PM

  2. s_gupta918

    Thanks …

    September 29, 2011 at 7:17 AM

  3. Rashmi Arya

    mere ghar aao meri amrae mata rani.

    October 14, 2010 at 1:50 PM

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s